Sign In

News Story

Meet our 2019 St. George National Award winners!

​The American Cancer Society is pleased to announce the winners of the 2019 St. George National Award

This prestigious award recognizes outstanding volunteers who have demonstrated ongoing leadership in community, mission delivery, and/or governance and have significantly contributed to furthering the Society’s strategic goals and mission-driven programs. These award winners have consistently represented the Society in a manner that advances our mission and expands our community presence and have exhibited a continuing commitment to the Society through a willingness to serve. 

Since conceived in 1949 by Charles S. Cameron, MD, former Society medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers across the country.   

This year, the St. George National Award was presented to several exceptional volunteers nationwide. These individuals were nominated by their Regions and approved by the St. George National Award Workgroup. Learn more about each of these award winners through these short bios

The 2019 St. George National Award winners are:  

North Region 

  • Warner Baxter – Saint Louis, Missouri 
  • Deb Krause – Mound, Minnesota 

Northeast Region 

  • Mark A. Goldberg, MD – Needham, Massachusetts 
  • Joseph Gillette – Brooklyn, New York 

North Central Region

  • Ray G. Young – Chicago, Illinois 
  • Rich Crepage, ED.D – Concord Township, Ohio 

South Region

  • Susan H. Waldrop, CFRE – Birmingham, Alabama 
  • Krista Lee – Elgin, Texas

Southeast Region

  • Susan T. Vadaparampil, PhD, MPH – Tampa, Florida 
  • Phyllis Baum – Leesburg, Florida 

West Region 

  • P. Kay Coleman – Encinitas, California 
  • Jose Ramos – San Ramon, California 

For any questions, please contact Caira Turner, senior volunteer recognition manager, at  

back to top