Sign In

News Story

Meet the new members of the Society's 2022 Board of Directors

Michael T. Marquardt will become the new chair.

The American Cancer Society is pleased to welcome five new directors who will join the Board on January 1, 2022. They are:

  • Asif Dhar, MD, MBA – vice chairman/principal at Deloitte in Washington, DC, top left

  • Wayne A. I. Frederick, MD, MBA, FACS – president of Howard University, top center

  • Kathy Gallagher, MSN – COO Thomas Jefferson University in Philadelphia, PA, top right

  • Connie Lindsey – head of Corporate Social Responsibility and Global Diversity & Inclusion at Northern Trust in Chicago, IL, bottom left

  • Othman Laraki – CEO of Color Genomics in San Francisco, CA, bottom right

Our 2022 officers are: 

  • Michael T. Marquardt – chair, pictured in the smaller image

  • Brian A. Marlow, CFA – vice chair 

  • Mark A. Goldberg, MD –  scientific officer 

  • Katie A. Eccles, Esq. –  secretary/treasurer 

  • John Alfonso, CPA, CGMA –  immediate past chair 

2022 re-elected Board members are: 

  • Bruce N. Barron 

  • Jennifer R. Crozier 

  • Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP 

  • Margaret McCaffery 

  • Oyebode Taiwo, MD, MPH. 

Continuing in service to the Board in 2022 are: 

  • Monica M. Bertagnolli, MD, FASCO 

  • Laura Hertz 

  • Amit Kumar, PhD 

  • Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD 

  • Edison T. Liu, MD 

  • Terri McClements 

  • Joseph M. Naylor 

  • Robert Winn, MD

We would like to recognize and thank our 2021 outgoing Board members: Joseph A. Agresta, Jeffrey L. Kean, and Gary S. Shedlin for their dedication and commitment to our lifesaving mission. 

For more details on the 18 directors and five officers, as well as their terms, review the 2022 Board Directory. 

A press release will be available later this year to publicly announce our 2022 Board of Directors.  


back to top