Sign In

News Story

Discovery news briefs

ACS Discovery Pillar work was noted in publications and recognitions.

  • Dr. Robin Yabroff is the senior author of a commentary posted recently in the American Society of Clinical Oncology’s Journal of Clinical Oncology titled “Ensuring Employment After Cancer Diagnosis: Are Workable Solutions Obvious?” Other authors include Dr. Cathy J. Bradley, University of Colorado Cancer Center, and Dr. Ya-Chen T. Shih from the University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. The paper is part of an ongoing collaborative effort with these colleagues. A podcast with all three authors will be available soon. 
  • Several American Cancer Society Discovery Pillar team members, former team members, and ACS-funded grantees were recently named to the prestigious 2022 Clarivate Highly Cited Researchers list. This list includes researchers who have “demonstrated significant and broad influence reflected in their publication of multiple highly cited papers over the last decade,” according to Clarivate. This meant their highlight-cited papers rank in the top 1% by citations for a field or fields and publication year. This group includes just 1 in 1,000 of the world’s population of scientists and social scientists (there are a total of 6,938 on the list this year). View a tweet about this news.
    • Current ACS Discovery Pillar team members on the list include: 
    • Former ACS team members on the list include:
      • Susan Gapstur (Population Science)
      • Stacey Fedewa (SHES)
      • Kimberly D Miller (SHES)
      • Carol DeSantis (SHES)
    • ACS-funded researchers on the list include: 
      • Bradley Bernstein MD, PhD, Farber Cancer Institute
      • Andrew Chan MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Craig M. Crews PhD, Yale University
      • Scott Dixon PhD, Stanford University, Stanford CA
      • Wei Gao PhD, California Institute of Technology
      • Pasi Janne MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
      • Nancy Krieger PhD, Harvard University School of Public Health
      • Jason Locasale PhD, Duke University
      • Matthew Meyerson MD, PhD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
      • Lecia V. Sequist MD, Massachusetts General Hospital
      • Anil K. Sood MD, University of Texas M.D. Anderson Cancer Center

back to top