Sign In

News Story

Meet our 2018 Luther L. Terry Award recipients

The winners of the 2018 Luther L. Terry Awards were presented with their medals on March 8 at the 17th World Conference on Tobacco or Health in Cape Town, South Africa. 

  • Douglas Bettcher, MD, MPH, PhD of Canada was honored with the Luther L. Terry Distinguished Career Award. He is the director of the Department for the Prevention of Noncommunicable Diseases, World Health Organization. Dr. Bettcher has written widely on several topics and has led the development of numerous flagship global publications in the area of tobacco control. These are highly relevant to policymakers and researchers alike, and have become part of the legacy of the WHO Framework Convention on Tobacco Control (WHO FCTC) negotiation process.
  • Professor Elif Dagli, MD, of Turkey, received the Luther L. Terry Outstanding Contribution Award. She has worked in tobacco control since the 1980s. In her country she has been involved with the first tobacco control legislation, protection of tobacco advertising ban, implementation of smoke-free legislation, and stopping tobacco industry interference. She promoted FCTC ratification through chest physicians of European countries and led Turkey to be among the first group of countries to ratify the FCTC.
  • Constantine Vardavas MD, RN, MPH, PhD, FCCP, of Greece, was recognized with the Luther L. Terry Young Pioneer award. He has a clinical background with degrees in medicine and nursing, and has paired this with postgraduate training in tobacco control.He is currently associate director of the Institute of Public Health of the American College of Greece, director of EU scientific relations of the European Respiratory Society, and adjunct associate professor of medicine at Mayo Clinic in the U.S. Dr. Vardavas is recognized as an emerging leader who champions bringing groundbreaking ideas and innovation to tobacco control.

Through the Luther L. Terry Awards, the American Cancer Society recognizes individuals who carry on the legacy of Dr. Terry by fearlessly and tirelessly laying the groundwork for tobacco control around the world. As Dr. Terry and his 1964 landmark U.S. Surgeon General's Report forever changed the tobacco control movement, the actions by these recipients have left an indelible mark on tobacco control, inspiring other advocates, shaping public policy, advancing science, and raising public awareness. 

The awards, given every three years at the World Conference on Tobacco OR Health, were presented by ACS Board Chair Kevin Cullen, MD, and Rosie Henson, our senior VP, Prevention and Early Detection.

PHOTOS: Pictured in the top photo, from left, are: Douglas William Bettcher, MD, Elif Dagli, MD, and Constantine Vardavas, MD. ACS Board Chair Kevin Cullen, MD, is in the smaller image. Photos are courtesy of Photo©Marcus Rose/The Union.

back to top