Sign In

News Story

ACS CAN welcomes four new Board members

Beginning January 1, 2020, the American Cancer Society Cancer Action Network (ACS CAN) Board of Directors will welcome four new directors:

  • Philip R. O'Brien – Mr. O'Brien is an attorney and shareholder with Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren, S.C., in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. He serves on the American Cancer Society Wisconsin State Leadership Board and previously served on the Midwest Division Board of Directors. He first became involved with the Society through Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren's Making Strides Against Breast Cancer campaign and has served as chair of the event since 2010. Mr. O'Brien currently serves as the ACT! Lead for the 4th Congressional District of Wisconsin. 
  • Marcus Plescia, MD, MPH – Dr. Plescia is the Chief Medical Officer of the Association of State and Territorial Health Officials and provides medical leadership and expertise across the agency and oversees the portfolio of chronic disease prevention and control programs. He has served in public health leadership roles at the local, state, and federal level in North Carolina and at the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. Dr. Plescia serves on the American Cancer Society's Mission Outcomes Committee and served on the former South Atlantic Division Board of Directors. 
  • Alice L. Pomponio – Ms. Pomponio serves as a strategic and operational advisor of Red Sky Partners LLC, and is the founder and managing director of Accendo Bio, an independent social innovation consulting practice aimed at accelerating innovative solutions to patient access, affordability, and adherence through enterprise formation, impact investment, and nonprofit strategic planning. She serves on the Eastern New England Area Board and led record-breaking fundraising efforts as the chair of the New England Research Breakfast since 2018. 
  • Jose R. Ramos, Jr. – Mr. Ramos is the Senior Director for Global Customer Acquisition in the Consumer Business Unit at Symantec, one of the world's leading cybersecurity companies. He has held numerous leadership roles in public and private companies, and his experience includes other management roles in technology, energy, and management consulting. He served as chair of the former California Division Board and has served in a variety of other roles, including as a legislative ambassador for ACS CAN, chair of Relay For Life, and as a State Lead Ambassador.

The following ACS CAN Board members were elected to serve as officers for 2020:

  • Sandra Cassese, MSN, RN, CNS – Chair

  • Maureen Mann, MS, MBA, FACHE – Vice Chair

  • Bernard Jackvony, JD – Secretary

  • John J. Manna Jr., Esq. – Treasurer

Finally, we want to recognize and thank John W. Hamilton, DDS, Robert E. Youle, and Daniel P. Heist, whose terms on the Board end December 31, 2019..

back to top