Sign In

News Story

Meet our 2018 St. George National Award winners!

The American Cancer Society is pleased to announce the winners of the 2018 St. George National Award. This prestigious award recognizes outstanding volunteers who have demonstrated ongoing leadership in community mission delivery and/or governance and have significantly contributed to furthering the Society's strategic goals and mission-driven programs. These award winners have consistently represented the Society in a manner that advances our mission and expands our community presence, and have exhibited a continuing commitment to the Society through a willingness to serve.

Since conceived in 1949 by Charles S. Cameron, MD, former Society medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers across the country.   

This year, the St. George National Award was presented to 13 exceptional volunteers nationwide. These individuals were nominated by their Regions and approved by the St. George National Award Task Force. Learn more about each of these award winners through these short bios.

The 2018 St. George National Award winners are:  

North Region

William F. "Bo" and Kelly Ryan – Madison, WI

Keith Whittemore – St. Louis, MO

Northeast Region

Miguel and Abby Melendez – North Baldwin, NY

North Central Region

Rick Benning – Springfield, OH

Cheri Ott – Plymouth, MI

South Region

Mark Koch, MD, FAAAP – Fort Worth, TX

John Ruckdeschel, MD – Jackson, MS

Southeast Region

Donna Lundy, PhD – Miami, FL

Jeff Ross – Charlotte, NC

West Region

Steven Ai – Honolulu, HI

John Hinshaw – Woodside, CA

For any questions, please contact Caira Turner, senior volunteer recognition manager, at

TOP PHOTO: Recipients are shown from left to right, as listed.

back to top