Sign In

News Story

Meet our 2020 St. George National Award winners

The American Cancer Society is pleased to announce the winners of the 2020 St. George National Award. These winners will be recognized locally and at this year's virtual Volunteer Impact Series.

This award recognizes outstanding volunteers who have demonstrated ongoing leadership in community, mission delivery, and/or business/field operations and have significantly contributed to furthering the Society's strategic goals and mission-driven programs. These award winners consistently represented the Society in a manner that advanced our mission and expanded our community presence. Even in the middle of a global pandemic, these volunteers continuously exhibited a commitment to the Society through a willingness to serve.

Since conceived in 1949 by Charles S. Cameron, MD, former Society medical and scientific director, the St. George National Award has been presented annually to ACS volunteers across the country.  

The 2020 St. George National Award winners are exceptional volunteers from across the nation recognized for their commitment to our mission during an incredibly difficult year. These individuals were nominated by their Regions for their dedication, passion, innovation, and so much more. Learn more about each of these award winners through these short bios.

The 2020 St. George National Award winners are: 

North Region

  • Linda DeGarmo (Wisconsin)
  • Jim Kavanaugh (Missouri)

Northeast Region

  • David Kaufman (New York)
  • Kenneth M. Raymond (New York)

North Central Region

  • Jeanette Altenau (Ohio)
  • John Bearden (Tennessee)

South Region

  • Mark Doescher, MD, MSPH (Oklahoma)
  • Jaime Wesolowski (Texas)

Southeast Region

  • Cynthia Farrah (Florida)
  • Nan Jenkins (Georgia)

West Region

  • Tom Flookes (Washington)
  • Carolyn Rhee (California)

Please contact Michelle Brady, volunteer engagement manager, if you have any questions.

back to top