Sign In

News Story

ACS evolves regional model

Changes made to maximize Development Pillar impact.

The American Cancer Society is embarking on a next phase for the Development Pillar to simplify operations and accelerate revenue growth in 2023 and beyond. Changes taking effect include consolidating the ACS regional model from six regions to four regions and becoming laser-focused on seizing significant growth opportunities in California, Hawaii, and Guam. 

The regional consolidation is not a cost-cutting measure and while some employees will experience a change in reporting relationships, most team members won’t experience changes in their day-to-day roles from this realignment.

“During the past year ACS has emerged with a renewed vision, mission, and strategic priorities. After a healthy recovery in mobilizing communities and generating revenue, we remain in a position of financial strength,” said Mike Neal, chief of organizational advancement.  “Through these changes we believe we can further accelerate our revenue growth opportunities, and fully realize our vision to end cancer as we know it, for everyone.”

Region evolution

The North Central and West regions will no longer serve as stand-alone territories. Apart from California, Hawaii, Guam, and Puerto Rico, all states will now assemble into four major regions:

  • North Region, led by Executive Vice President David Benson, includes Alaska, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Washington, Wisconsin, and Wyoming.
  • Northeast Region, led by Executive Vice President Anthony Marino, includes Connecticut, Delaware, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Vermont, Washington D.C., and West Virginia.
  • South Region, led by Executive Vice President Jeff Fehlis, includes Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nevada, New Mexico, Oklahoma, Texas, and Utah.
  • Southeast Region, led by Executive Vice President Kimberly Jackson, includes Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia.
  • Puerto Rico will remain as it is currently, a Division led by Executive Vice President Dr. Lillian Santos.

Jeff Klaas, who served as Regional EVP of the West Region and briefly as interim chief digital officer, has left the organization. A new approach and structure will be created for California, Hawaii, and Guam as a division, and a dedicated leader will be named to unlock the full revenue generation potential of these areas. Until the division leader is identified, Brant Woodward, senior executive vice president, Field Operations, will serve as interim lead for the California and Pacific Islands Division.

Former Regional EVP of the North Central Region Wayne White will pioneer the new role of executive principal, Development, to complement existing leadership in Philanthropy and Corporate Relationships and meaningfully advance the capacity to fund mission programs.

back to top