Sign In

News Story

ACS welcomes 2024 Board of Directors

Four new members join Board.​​​

With the start of the new year, the American Cancer Society is pleased to also welcome the new and re-elected members of its Board of Directors. 

Joining the Board as of Jan. 1, 2024, are new members, pictured above, left to right, Sean T. Farnham, an ESPN college basketball analyst, Desirée G. Rogers, CEO of Black Opal Beauty, LLC, Norman E. (Ned) Sharpless, MD, professor of cancer policy and innovation at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine and former director of the National Cancer Institute, and Jaime Wesolowski, president and chief executive officer of Methodist Healthcare Ministries. Read more about these new Board members, and the complete Board, in the ACS Board Directory.  

Re-elected members of the 2024 Board include Asif Dhar, MD, MBA; Katie Eccles, Esq.; and Wayne A. I. Frederick, MD, MBA, FACS. Continuing in service to the Board in 2024 are José C. Buenaga, MBA; Karen S. Etzkorn; Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD; Edison T. Liu, MD; Michael Pellini, MD; Kenneth R. Stoll; and Robert Winn, MD

Brian Marlow continues to serve as Board chair, alongside Terri McClements, vice chair; Mark A. Goldberg, MD, board scientific officer; Kathy Gallagher, MSN, treasurer; and Connie Lindsey, secretary. The 2022 Board chair, Michael Marquardt, remains on the Board as immediate past chair. 

“It is an honor to welcome these four new distinguished members to the board of directors, each of whom brings a wealth of knowledge, talent and skilled leadership that will help us fulfill the mission of the American Cancer Society,” Marlow said of the new Board members in a media release on Jan. 8. “We are grateful for their commitment and look forward to working together to improve the lives of cancer patients and their families.” 

The American Cancer Society Board of Directors consists of directors who serve as officers and no less than three directors at-large. Directors at-large are elected for a two-year term unless a lesser term is required to fill a vacancy.  

Board members Jennifer R. Crozier; Carmen E. Guerra, MD, MSCE, FACP; Margaret McCaffery; and Oyebode Taiwo, MD, MPH, ended their terms on Dec. 31, 2023.  

back to top